The town of St. Francisville was established in 1809 and Feliciana Parish in 1810, originally as part of the Territory of Orleans. The territory was admitted into the Union two years late as the State of Louisiana. As its population grew Feliciana was divided into two parishes, east and west, around 1824. Plantations and other historic homes are still a part of the vibrant community today. Rolling hills and enormous oaks give a picturesque background to the small town charm.
Strolling for antiques in St. Francisville one might think the community has been undisturbed for decades. Small shops, hidden dining and professional services are tucked into historic homes and buildings. Unapparent industry yields a strong economic base with River Bend generating facility and Georgia Pacific Paper. The school system is nationally ranked and is another significant draw for community growth.